Arkansas Derby

 The Arkansas Derby is an American flat Thoroughbred horse race for three-year-olds held annually in April at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, Arkansas. It is currently a Grade I race run over a distance of 9 furlongs on dirt.

In 2004, Oaklawn Park offered a $5 million bonus to any horse that could sweep its three-year-old graded stakes, the Rebel Stakes and the Arkansas Derby, and then take the Kentucky Derby. This helped increase participation from the top three-year-olds in the country to the point where the American Graded Stakes Committee made the Arkansas Derby a Grade I race in 2010. Smarty Jones was the first horse to collect the bonus.

Past winners of the race have gone on to win many American Classic Races. 1980 winner Temperence Hill and 1998's Victory Gallop both went on to capture the Belmont Stakes. Sunny's Halo won the 1983 Kentucky Derby as did Smarty Jones in 2004. Elocutionist, Tank's Prospect, Pine Bluff, Smarty Jones, Afleet Alex, Curlin all won the Preakness Stakes. The 1994 winner, Concern, won that year's Breeders' Cup Classic.

The inaugural race in 1936 offered a total purse of $5,000. The first winner was Holl Image, who was owned and trained by Jack Carter.

Arkansas Derby Reviews & Ratings

No Reviews / Ratings Yet

Submit a review / rating for Arkansas Derby

Submit a Review

You are submitting this review as an anonymous user.

You can LOGIN HERE   or   Facebook Connect

Facebook Twitter Google+ Email

TicketStub offers a large marketplace to access tickets through our network of suppliers. Tickets are owned, priced, fulfilled and shipped by the party listing the ticket. All orders have to be confirmed. Ticket prices may be more than face value and all sales are final. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions. © 2014 All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Site Map

Mobile Analytics