Mastercard Memorial Cup

 The Memorial Cup is a junior ice hockey club championship trophy awarded annually to the Canadian Hockey League champion. It is awarded following a four-team, round-robin tournament between a host team and the champions of the CHL's three member leagues: the Ontario Hockey League, Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and Western Hockey League. Sixty teams are eligible to compete for the Memorial Cup, representing nine provinces and four American states. The Edmonton Oil Kings are the current champions, defeating the Guelph Storm 6-3 in regulation.

The trophy was originally known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association in 1919 to be awarded to the junior champion of Canada. From its inception until 1971, the Memorial Cup was open to all Junior A teams in the country and was awarded following a series of league, provincial and regional playoffs culminating in an east-west championship. The three-league tournament format began in 1972 when the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association divided the Junior A rank into two tiers, naming the Memorial Cup as the championship of the Major Junior level.

The Memorial Cup was proposed by Captain James T.

Mastercard Memorial Cup Reviews & Ratings

No Reviews / Ratings Yet

Submit a review / rating for Mastercard Memorial Cup

Submit a Review

You are submitting this review as an anonymous user.

You can LOGIN HERE   or   Facebook Connect

Facebook Twitter Google+ Email

TicketStub offers a large marketplace to access tickets through our network of suppliers. Tickets are owned, priced, fulfilled and shipped by the party listing the ticket. All orders have to be confirmed. Ticket prices may be more than face value and all sales are final. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions. © 2014 All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Site Map

Mobile Analytics