NCAA Gymnastics

 The NCAA introduced women's gymnastics as a championship sport in 1982. Gymnastics was one of twelve women's sports added to the NCAA championship program for the 1981-82 school year, as the NCAA engaged in battle with the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women for sole governance of women's collegiate sports. The AIAW continued to conduct its established championship program in the same twelve sports; however, after a year of dual women's championships, the NCAA conquered the AIAW and usurped its authority and membership.

Under the NCAA, only five universities have claimed the overall Division I championship; the Division II competition was discontinued in 1987. During the early years of competition, the University of Utah under the leadership of head coach Greg Marsden dominated the field of competition. During the late 1980s and 1990s, the University of Georgia, coached by Suzanne Yoculan, and the University of Alabama, coached by Sarah Patterson, gained success and claimed several titles. From 1996 to 2012, the University of Alabama, the University of Georgia and UCLA, coached by Valorie Kondos Field, have claimed all the NCAA titles; four titles for the University of Alabama, six for UCLA and seven for the University of Georgia.

NCAA Gymnastics Reviews & Ratings

No Reviews / Ratings Yet

Submit a review / rating for NCAA Gymnastics

Submit a Review

You are submitting this review as an anonymous user.

You can LOGIN HERE   or   Facebook Connect

Facebook Twitter Google+ Email

TicketStub offers a large marketplace to access tickets through our network of suppliers. Tickets are owned, priced, fulfilled and shipped by the party listing the ticket. All orders have to be confirmed. Ticket prices may be more than face value and all sales are final. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions. © 2014 All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Site Map

Mobile Analytics