Rugby World Cup

 The 1995 Rugby World Cup was the third Rugby World Cup. It was hosted and won by South Africa, and was the first Rugby World Cup in which every match was held in one country.

The World Cup was the first major sporting event to take place in South Africa following the end of apartheid. It was also the first World Cup in which South Africa was allowed to compete; the International Rugby Football Board had only readmitted South Africa to international rugby in 1992, following negotiations to end apartheid. The World Cup would also be the last major event of rugby union's amateur era; two months after the tournament, the IRFB opened the sport to professionalism.

The World Cup was marred by an accident that took place during the pool stage of the tournament. Three minutes into a match between Côte d'Ivoire and Tonga, the Ivorian winger Max Brito was crushed beneath several other players. Despite intensive care, Brito was left paralyzed below the neck.

In the final, held at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on 24 June, South Africa defeated New Zealand 15 – 12, with Joel Stransky scoring a drop goal in extra time to win the match.

Rugby World Cup: Oceania 1 vs. Play-Off Winner 10/06/2015 8:00PM
Stadium MK, Milton Keynes

Rugby World Cup Reviews & Ratings

No Reviews / Ratings Yet

Submit a review / rating for Rugby World Cup

Submit a Review

You are submitting this review as an anonymous user.

You can LOGIN HERE   or   Facebook Connect

Facebook Twitter Google+ Email

TicketStub offers a large marketplace to access tickets through our network of suppliers. Tickets are owned, priced, fulfilled and shipped by the party listing the ticket. All orders have to be confirmed. Ticket prices may be more than face value and all sales are final. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions. © 2014 All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Site Map

Mobile Analytics